Skip to content

This is 40?

January 3, 2013
planning-a-40th-birthday-party_s600x600

Okay, well it’s 12 days before my 40th birthday. I look in the mirror and wonder, so this is what forty is suppose to look like? I haven’t got any larger. I have a few gray hairs, but I’ve had those for years. I can still rock a bikini and even after shoulder surgery, I can still do tumbling passes better than when I was a teenager. My lovelife is completely amazing. So what gives? What is the big deal about forty? I was told in my twenties when I got into my thirties, that it would all start go to downhill. Okay, back to the original sentence: It’s 12 days before my 40th birthday. Am I supposed to reflect upon my life with some sadness, regretting things I did or didn’t do? Regret is a complete waste of time. You can’t move forward if you are busy lookin’ back. Hmmm…

My friends hated when they turned 40, like it was a death sentence, like their lives were over. They see the young 20-something guys and they don’t get hit on by them anymore and that somehow makes them feel so old. I don’t think that is depressing. Don’t you remember how dumb 20-something guys were? Need I remind you of the planking fad? Thank you Dumb Things of the Week Blog!

Planking Do you really want to invest your time with a Planker? There ya go! Ha! I dunno call me crazy, but I am actually excited to be turning 40. I have no desire to go back in time. Yeah, my 20s were a lot of fun, but I wouldn’t trade anything to go back. I was a crazy nut job with no stability in my 20s, living out of a suitcase for half of it. Could barely pay my bills. Oh, no, no, no. No thank you!

On a different note, I am more excited about 2013 more than I am about turning forty. The number 13 has always been a magical number for me. So many good times, defining moments, and new adventures in my life somehow involved this number. Thus, I have renamed 2013 as “the year of the Sheila.” Oh yeah! I am determined to make sure everyday this year contains bliss and heart fluttering joy. I have a lot of goals this year, too, that I think I can accomplish…no let me rephrase that. I know I can accomplish! Thoughts become things, ya know, gotta choose my words carefully.

I have set a financial goal to make at least $20,000 more than last year. I have a spiritual goal of tuning in deeper to the Universe and being on the right frequency at least 90% of the day. I have to be careful because I am so affected by weather. Cold and cloudy = sad and depressed. The last couple months have been more than 50% blah! So, I really need to work on not letting the weather reflect its ominous tone on my soul! I need to remember mood is a choice. My choice. I am in control of me. Once again, thoughts become things, so choose the good ones. (er, that’s a Mike Dooley reference, click here to understand what the hell I am talking about).
tut

I’m off to a good start this year. Just 362 more days, hee hee. I hope this year doesn’t fly by. I really want each day to be remembered and cherished. I am headed to Puerto Rico in a couple of weeks, so I got 5 days of fun and adventure in the bag!

We shall see…this blog was a bit of a random hodgepodge, I know. Oh well. I plan on writing weekly instead of just monthly (hopefully with a little more uniform style and flair). Per usual, leave your comments below.

~ Blissful living one day at a time.

From → Good Vibes, Lifesyle

2 Comments
  1. I am the same way with weather. But I feel 2013 is going to rock, and I am looking forward to 40 in a few years. Keep the positive energy going!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 445 other followers

